Herbed Simple Syrup and Lemonade

September 6, 2013 § 1 Comment

Does anyone else refuse to believe summer is ending? Labor day weekend came and went (I worked) and all of a sudden sun and vacations are gone. I REFUSE to believe it. I’m gonna keep going on going on vacations and drinking lemonade.

I don’t know whats taken me so long to make simple syrup. Its just so…simple. Equal parts sugar and water. And if you happen to have herbs even better. This time my simple syrup batch included about half a cup of mint, torn into a pieces. I also did a second batch with 5-6 sprigs of thyme.To make the lemonade I juiced 8 lemons. My arms may have gotten a workout. I got about one and half cups of lemon juice. I mixed it with half a cup of sugar and about three cups of cool water. Then, as the cherry on top I combined the simple syrup with the lemonade, the ratio was about 3:1 (lemonade:herbed simple syrup). And added some ice and mixed well. It was fantastic. So refreshing and tasty! Regular lemonade is old news now.

Ingredients for simple syrup

  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • fresh herbs (1/2 torn leaves, or 5-6 sprigs depending on the herb)

To Make
1) In a small saucepan combine water, sugar and herbs. Over low-medium heat stir consistently until sugar is dissolved. Remove from heat and let cool. Store in refrigerator for up to one week.

Ingredients for lemonade

  • 1 and 1/2 cups fresh lemon juice (from about 8 lemons)
  • 3-4 cups cool water
  • 1/2 cup sugar (or more depending on preferences)
  • Ice

To Make
1)Mix lemon juice, water and sugar. Top with ice and stir.
2) For herbed lemonade combine 1 cup lemon juice and 1/3 cup simple syrup (or to taste), add ice and enjoy!

Tagged: ,

§ One Response to Herbed Simple Syrup and Lemonade

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Herbed Simple Syrup and Lemonade at Notes from the corner.

meta

