Lentil Soup

September 13, 2013 § Leave a comment

This one time I got really upset when the internet went out at our house and the open network worked for everything but my main computer. Frustration was high. I was annoyed. I also felt emotional because I wasn’t with my best friends anymore after a soul-reviving weekend.

Then I remembered there is real life tragedy. People in Colorado have lost their homes to flooding, Syria is happening and there are families dealing with death and cancer. Life is truly hard and sad for people beyond not having internet and missing friends. Real talk. And I needed that mental reminder.

The best I can do right now is thank God for the things I have and pray for those in the midst of horrible things. I wish I could make everyone a bowl of this lentil soup, some bread and love them with comfort food.

To me, soup is one of those foods you make for people that need love, even if it’s me and I need some comfort. If you feel inclined, chop some veggies, pour in some chicken broth, add spices and love on someone that needs it. Thanks for letting me real talk.

Lentil Soup
from my mother-in-law

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 carrots, thinly sliced
  • 2 stocks of celery, sliced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 4-8 cups of chicken or vegetable stock (can substitute 1/2 of this for water)
  • 3 medium red potatoes, thinly sliced
  • 1, 15 oz. can of crushed tomatoes
  • 1 lb of lentils (I use green usually) , rinsed
  • bay leaf
  • salt and pepper to taste

To Make

1) Heat olive oil in large pot over medium heat. Add garlic, cook for one minute. Then add in onions, carrots and celery and stir occasionally; until onions are clear.
2) Add in 4 cups of stock, lentils, potatoes, tomatoes, bay leaf and S&P. Once boiling, bring down to a simmer and cook for about 45 minutes, adding more water or stock as it cooks. Once lentils are cooked and potatoes are tender, season to taste and add in liquid until soup is desired consistency.

I like to serve it with a big hunk of bread while warm. Also great as leftovers, and will keep for several days in the fridge or in the freezer for later. Enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Lentil Soup at Notes from the corner.

meta

