Instant Oatmeal

September 18, 2013 § Leave a comment

Once I bought a Costco sized box of instant oatmeal packets. They sat in our pantry for six months and I only used them once in awhile, like for camping. Normally I’m really into oatmeal and things but I think the large quantity I had kind of freaked me out. I’m not sure why. Probably has something to do with my psyche. We’ll examine that later.

 Anyway, once I finally used them I refused to buy individual oatmeal packets anymore. A couple weeks ago I had the craving and wanted them to bring to work with me. Thankfully I stumbled upon a recipe from the Kitchn for homemade instant oatmeal.  

The secrets? Quick cook oats and grinding 1/3 of them in a processor to a coarse powder. Makes it stick together and cook effectively with just boiling water.

It’s incredibly east to put together, really cost effective and really customizable. I like my oatmeal a little creamy so I add powdered creamer, but if you want non-processed ingredients feel free to skip it. Cashews are also my latest nut-jam but sliced almonds would also be amazing. And you can use any sweetener or dried fruit you want. Make it your own!

One note on sizing: I always used to use two instant oatmeal packets for one meal (I eat a lot, okay?) but with this I used 3/4 cup in one bag/bowl and its the perfect size! Add 1 cup boiling water and it’s perfect so figure out how much works for you and go with it.

Homemade Instant Oatmeal
from the Kitchn

Ingredients

  • 6 cups quick cook oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup powdered creamer
  • 2 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1/2 cup cashews, shopped

To Make

1) Using a spice grinder, coffee grinder or food processor grind two cups of the oats coarsely.
2) Add the ground oats, whole oats, salt, brown sugar, creamer to a large bowl and mix well. Lastly stir in the raisins and cashews.
3) Put between 1/2 and 1 cup of oats in a bowl (or in individual bags) depending on the serving size you want. When ready to eat add in 3/4 cup boiling water per 1/2 cup of oats mixture you have. Stir, let sit for 3-5 minutes and enjoy!

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Instant Oatmeal at Notes from the corner.

meta

