Brown Butter Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

October 3, 2013 § 2 Comments

A few of these cookies went to work with my husband. He then texted me from working telling me everyone loved the Snicker Fiddles. I love text correct for changing snickerdoodles to snicker fiddles and I think that’s what I shall call these.

These were my last sugary hurrah for a month. I’m doing a no-sugar month starting this past Tuesday. I’m not telling you to toot my own horn, I’m telling you as an accountability. If I don’t tell you and I mess up it’s not a big deal but since I’ve told you I can’t just quit but sheesh it’s gonna be tough. Anyway, back to the cookie.

These little gems are a delicious fall cookie. They’re dense, moist, chewy and flavorful. Don’t let the brown butter scare you. It’s really not that tough to make and packs a big punch. Follow these excellent instructions from The Kitchn.

A couple pointers, the dough needs to rest for a bit after it’s mixed. It’s pretty sticky and giving it twenty minutes to sit makes it easier to form into balls. Also, I baked these a little more than the original recipe calls for. I found 8 minutes left the cookies underdone and 10-12 minutes is perfect.  Also, they don’t spread out too much so they’re the perfect size to share. Enjoy!

Brown Butter Pumpkin Snickerdoodles
from The Kitchen Paper

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1-1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • for topping: 1/4 cup granulated sugar + 1 tsp cinnamon

To Make:

1) Start with making your brown butter. Melt 1 cup butter in a small saucepan over medium heat. It will melt, start to bubble and crackle and eventually turn brown. Stir occasionally during the process. Takes about 20 minutes.  Set aside to cool for 5-10 minutes
2) In a large bowl whisk together flour, cinnamon, pumpkin pie spice, salt, baking powder.
3) When the butter is cooled, stir in sugars until combined. Then add pumpkin puree, large egg and vanilla extract. Pour this mixture into flour mixture and mix well. Will be very wet and sticky. Set aside for 20 minutes, which will make it easier to form into balls.
3) Preheat oven to 350. Form dough into 1-inch balls, roll in cinnamon sugar mixture and place on baking sheet lined with parchment paper. Bake for 10-12 minutes. Let sit on rack for 2 minutes then transfer to cooling rack. Enjoy!

§ 2 Responses to Brown Butter Pumpkin Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Brown Butter Pumpkin Snickerdoodles at Notes from the corner.

meta

