Coconut Milk Smoothie

October 21, 2013 § Leave a comment

You know what’s motivating? Half-used cans of relatively expensive ingredients. I made a delicious thai dish that used one cup of a can of coconut milk. My mind started thinking about what I could do with it so I wouldn’t end up throwing away the last half like I normally do, and this coconut milk smoothie was born.

The coconut milk gives it a creamy delicious taste that’s not overpowering. Since I’m not eating processed sugar I added some dried, pitted dates for sweetness. The fruit combo of banana, strawberries and raspberries was inspired but what I had in my freezer. Customize it with what you have!

My one piece of advice it to pre-soak the dates and blend them thoroughly before adding the other stuff, otherwise you end up with little pieces of dates which isn’t bad it’s just weird. Enjoy!

Coconut Milk Smoothie
(roughly adapted from Real Simple)

Makes 1 large smoothie

  • 1/4 cup water
  • 3 dried, pitted dates
  • 1/2 cup of ice
  • 1/3 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 ripe banana
  • a little over 1 cup frozen fruit (I used strawberries and raspberries)

To Make

1) Soak dates in water for 5-10 minutes. Blend.  Add in ice, coconut milk, banana and frozen fruit; blend well. Pour into glass and enjoy! 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Coconut Milk Smoothie at Notes from the corner.

meta

