Cardamom Granola

December 26, 2013 § Leave a comment

I hope everyone isn’t too depressed now that Christmas is over. The harsh reality of the Christmas station promptly playing normal music brought me down but I’m getting over it. Moving on.

This upcoming year I have decided to only post recipes I really love. Things I make multiple times, basics, really tasty ones and things I adapt or make that are great. So there may be a few less recipes that this year but I hope they’ll be quality.

This recipe has been a staple in my kitchen for a few weeks. I gave it as Christmas gifts and have made it four times now. In my mind it’s great as an afternoon snack with greek yogurt or with a cup of coffee on a cold winner morning.

Basic granola techniques makes it happen. You mix old fashioned oats, some nuts and spices. I really love unsalted pumpkin seeds and roasted sunflower seeds. Also, my favorite sweetener to use is brown sugar and agave but I think you could do honey or maple syrup too.

Make sure to toast it enough too. This granola is best with a little crisp on it. When you take it out from the oven if you let it cool on the pan it will form a few clumps if you like that too. Make this and enjoy.

Cardamom Granola
adapted from butter me up, Brooklyn

Ingredients

  • 3 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 1/2 cups nuts (3/4 cup pumpkin seeds, 3/4 cup sunflower seeds)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cardamom
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup liquid sweetener (agave nectar)
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 3/4 cup dried fruit (chopped apricots)

To Make

1) Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Line large, rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper
2) In large bowl, combine oats, nuts, spices and brown sugar. In another bowl whisk together agave and canola oil. Pour over oat mixture and stir well, making sure it’s well mixed. Spread mixture on lined baking sheet.
3) Bake 45-50 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes so it browns evenly. Remove from oven and let mixture cool. When cooled, add in dried fruit. Store in airtight container. Enjoy!

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cardamom Granola at Notes from the corner.

meta

