Cashew Cookie Dough Bites

April 24, 2014 § Leave a comment

IMG_7218

Today, I started out strong. Woke up at 5:51 without an alarm (weird, I know). I baked some stuff, cleaned up around the house, worked out and even had salad for lunch. And then I crashed. And hard. I was going to go to a yoga class but as walked out the door something hit me and I promptly turned around and marched right back inside. My afternoon has thus consisted of coffee, Parenthood and skyping my sister. Just some old-fashioned vegging out self-care.

Not sure about you, but when I sit at home all afternoon all I want to do is snack. (no matter what, got snacks on my mind, I can never get enough. Song reference anyone?) Thankfully I have a few of these awesome raw cashew cookie dough bites in the fridge. They provide a little bit of indulgence while still being delicious, filling and relatively healthy. I like them as a work pick-me-up or a quick post-spin class snack.

In the directions it says to pulse until fine meal forms. There is a line between meal and when it begins to turn into cashew butter so I like to pulse a few seconds at a time. If you do it too little the dough isn’t as smooth. You can also add maple syrup to taste and texture. Experiment with how much you need. I found that 3 tbsp make the dough too sticky and didn’t hold it’s shape very well.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup cashews
  • 1/2 old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2-3 tbsp maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup mini chocolate chips

To Make

1) In food processor, pulse oats, cashews, salt and cinnamon until a fine mixture forms. Add maple syrup and vanilla to mixture and pulse until mixture comes together.
2) Put dough into separate bowl and fold in the chocolate chips. Line a container with wax paper. Using your hands or spoons form dough balls about 1 inch in diameter. Place in container. Eat raw or freeze for several hours and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cashew Cookie Dough Bites at Notes from the corner.

meta

